Skip to content

Howdy Folks

January 5, 2006

Hello my real friends, I’d like to introduce you to my virtual friends. While many of you know me as David, you can just call me The Count around here. It’s the virtual me you will hopefully come to know and love! But seriously, thanks for making it this far. You must be a friend indeed.

I’ve been doin’ a lot of thinking… a lot of reading… a lot of grousing and worrying and hoping and praying and learning and unlearning and wondering if I’ve basically gone mad… or, I’m continuing a long process of waking up and paying attention that started half my life ago. I’m pretty sure it’s the latter but you can decide for yourself.

Being a quick reader and a slow thinker, I might not be posting a whole lot of original stuff, but rather pointing to the stuff I’m reading and asking "What do you think?". In my view the entire world has been upside-down since September 11th, and this blog is my attempt to get used to walking on the ceiling, Poiseidon Adventure-style. I hope you’ll come back and visit me from time to time.

The links on the left come from more than a year of serious blog reading. Most of them are political in nature, but not all. If you’re interested in finding out what I’m reading, start at the top and work your way down. Let me know what you think!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. "FecesFlinger" (Timmy C) permalink
    January 5, 2006 6:09 pm

    Count (and Duke):

    Nice design, funny monkey-usqe thing going on throughout… Look forward to checking it out more.

    Looking over your dems sites in your blogroll (“fecesflighers/chimpy haters”) A recommendation for your blogging pleasure from the center-left side of the blog world focusing on foreign policy would be Democracy Arsenal a joint effort by two or three major progressive think tanks.

    I’ve found it to be a thoughtful group blog posted by a lot of smart contributers on difficult issues of current affairs…

    Check it out.

  2. David Lugo permalink
    January 5, 2006 6:13 pm

    Hey Count,

    Congrats on the new blog. I like your comments on the tough questions for Islam. Well thought through and well written.

    I played “Jesus The Very Thought of Thee” for the choir director at my church here in Houston and he really liked it. He wanted to see if we (the choir) could sing it. The problem is that I have lost Steven Delgeorge’s contact information. Do you have an e-mail address for him?

    By the way, do you have any recordings of the praise music we sang together besides the 1998 Santa Barbara retreat. I hjold those six years of service with high affection and it would mean a lot to me if I could have some other memory than that one recording.

  3. The Count permalink
    January 5, 2006 10:01 pm

    Tim, good to hear from you. I have checked out Democracy Arsenal from time to time on your recommendation a while back. I much prefer the Bull Moose http://www.bullmooseblog.com/ Democracy Arsenal was a little too hand-wringy for me. I felt like I could reduce most of their analysis to “what if things went horribly wrong, which they will with that cowboy in charge”. I’ll keep trying though.

  4. Duke_Ray permalink
    January 6, 2006 2:54 pm

    I dug the Poseidon Adventure imagery, Count! Nice intro!

Leave a Reply

