Skip to content

What was in your Easter Egg?

April 19, 2006

How sweet are your words to my taste,
sweeter than honey to my mouth!
–Ps 119:103-4

I had a great Easter. So much so that I just lived it, rather than write about it. Obviously, it was the same for much of Lent. I truly have a sense of renewal, of having rested and enjoyed refreshment. And that was before the several Cadbury Egg products I’ve consumed in the past few days, not to mention the chocolate bunny head (body remains untouched), sundry cheap jelly beans, chocolate carrots and the like. I’ve never given up chocolate for Lent before, and let me tell you, it ain’t as easy as it looks. It turned out to be a very effective reminder of my mortality as my workplace literally has bowls and bowls full of chocolate laying around tempting one each day after lunch as the urge to nap becomes quite strong. Now I’ve had my chocolate, but feel less habitual in it’s use. Adjustment made. Reward received. Life enjoyed.

I had to smile when some friends brought their three year old over on Sunday, sans Chocolate. I discovered him clutching one of my two-year old’s bunnies, claiming it was his. Not so, according to his Dad. Their church (much more Liberal than ours) had been clear that their egg hunt would have eggs filled with pretzels, goldfish and other boring crap short of cardboard scraps. "What’s the joy in that?" I thought. Can’t we let kids just be kids? What’s wrong with a sanctioned time to pig out on candy? It might actually help (as it seems to have with me) keep at bay an unhealthy interest in sweets. Dad didn’t seem that enthused by the decision either, as he had to deal with my kids candy anyway.

On the other hand, while in child care at the Good Friday service, my Son was lucky enough to receive Resurrection Eggs®. Nothing so earthly as sweets or snacks in those! As my wife and I returned from a very moving service, we watched in mild horror as a well-intentioned but clueless and untrained teenager explained to my three year old Son that he had been lucky enough to find in his Resurrection Eggs® not only the Scourge ("That’s right! They used it to whip Jesus before he went on the Cross to die for us!"), but also the Spear. That right, the one they poked into Jesus before…

Luckily, my Son thought it looked like a screwdriver. And he seemed more interested in knowing which color each of his eggs were. But I wonder what he really thought. Better he would have got a couple nuggets of granola instead. No matter, that Easter evening during prayer time he sang us "Yes Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so" for the first time with a big smile on his face. I don’t think he really knows what that meant either, but I would like to think it’s more important. What I know for sure is that he meant to please us and impress us.

And he did. Sweet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

