Skip to content

War Movies: Bring It On!

May 9, 2006

For those who haven’t been over there, please check out the Conservative Film blog LIBERTAS. So much great stuff, including this excellent piece on the need to Draft Hollywood:

(S)elf-examination and reform are part of the measure of our greatness. But there’s a difference between a humble nation confessing its sins and a country of flagellants whipping themselves for every impure thought. Since the ’60s, we have had, it seems, an endless string of war movies, from “Dr. Strangelove” to “Syriana,” in which the United States is depicted as wildly aggressive and endlessly corrupt — which, in fact, it’s not; which, in fact, it never has been.
        In taking our self-examining ethos to these extremes, we have lost a kind of wisdom, wisdom that acknowledges the complexity of human life but can move through it to find the simple truth again. While assessing the intricate failings of our moral history, many of us have lost sight of the simple truth that the system that shapes us is, in fact, a great one, that it has moved us inexorably to do better and that it’s well worth defending against every aggressor and certainly against as shabby and vicious an aggressor as we face today.

There’s a lot of really great filmmaking out there to be had if the ideological conformity of Hollywood could be put aside. More likely is that Hollywood will eventually be put aside as the tools to make films become more and more accessible to people outside the gates.

There’s also a terrific review of the recent 2-DVD set for Network that was just released. Included at no extra charge for that review is some words of wisdom for conservative filmmakers:

Chayefsky’s movies are funny, vulgar, urban, ethnic, and very
sophisticated. They’re movies for adults – particularly those of us
(and there are a lot of us) who live in the Blue States, but who don’t
happen to be drinking Hollywood’s Hate-Bush Kool-Aid nowadays. There
are no films for people like us right now.

So here is
my advice to conservatives trying to figure out what they want to say
in their films: just for once, do what Chayefsky did and get in the
Left’s face. ‘Family values’ are fine, but they’re not always enough.
Sometimes you need a sense of humor. Sometimes you need to stop
worrying about who you might offend. Sometimes you need some balls. Sometimes you need to get mad as hell. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2006 10:31 am

    Interesting stuff, Grec. I must admit that the last three lines of this post are a conundrum. If I differ with you on an issue, but I attempt to have balls and get mad as hell, I’ll be dismissed by you as having, well, anger issues. If you do the same with people who disagree with you (say, about events at Hollywood), they’d similarly dismiss you.

    What Golden Rule of discourse are we really talking about, ultimately?

  2. May 11, 2006 1:19 am

    As usual Rob you are an enigma wrapped in a non-sequitir… whatever that means.

    Not sure what you’re getting at. The two quotes I pulled are not really connected thematically, they just happened to catch my eye.

    I don’t particularly respond to anger most of the time. I don’t experience it my self as much as some people- which is probably why I’ve struggled with depression (anger turned inward). Some people like to judge the judgemental people. I get angry at the angry people. I guess.

    Mostly I’m looking for some facts and a convincing narrative to hang them on. Flesh and bones. As I’ve said to you before, I do not understand your narrative. If I dismiss you, it not because of your anger per se, but because your anger, IMHO, gets the better of your argument, your facts, your priorities and values.

    I’d love to discuss this further over lunch. I’m free next week!

  3. Rob A. permalink
    May 14, 2006 10:25 pm

    Grec — I’ll certainly apologize for seeming to speak in non-sequitirs. In this particular case, I suppose it may have partly been due to your “pulling quotes that are not really connected thematically.” I’ll certainly attempt to spell out my narrative this week on my blog, and I’m open to lunch this Thur or Fri if you can make it to downtown.

Leave a Reply

