Skip to content

That Democratization Strategy

July 18, 2006

Readers may have noticed I’m in a period of transition/hibernation. My how time flies. I’ve been busy tending to my yard, doing last-minute household projects and moving into my new office for a new gig that will keep me busy until November. In my spare time I’ve been cutting a 15 minute film on a borrowed laptop and trying to play with my kids as much as possible. I’ve had lunch with Rob Asghar and had a brief email correspondence with a Mr. Lipscomb, more of which later. I’m also trying to change blogging services, another technological headache. I need a break.

Also, I’m still trying to make my way through this long post by Tigerhawk, “Wither That Democratization Strategy”. There he takes you through a recent debate at NRO at times highly critical of the goal of promoting Democracy in the Middle East.

This is my idea of an open and nuanced discussion of the war strategy. I urge my reader(s) to give it a try and comment here with any observations, as I will probably not be posting for a few more days with any frequency. I myself, as always, take much too long to form and articulate a response in decent blog-time.

I don’t have the energy to elaborate much further. There are difficult choices still ahead with no easy fix on offer. The battlefield is complex and requires a nuanced interpretation; but the actions required may be quite bold and simple. Either way, enormous consequences will follow as a result.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rob permalink
    August 8, 2006 3:22 pm

    U still alive? We miss you.

Leave a Reply

