Skip to content

Because It’s Friday… Mommy Wars!!!

November 17, 2006
by

So, sometime last year, this conservative children’s tale was published:

help_mom_gif.gif

As a result, apparently, a liberal professor wrote his counter-propagranda tale:

why_mommy_2.jpg

Yes, I’m not making this up.

I’m not sure which is more absurd: the existence of these two books, or the stunning lack of self-awareness in this Buzzflash review of the latter book.

You can laugh or you can cry — I chose to laugh. Enjoy.

The Count adds: Duke, I started to do a post about this book back in February, but since Gerard Vanderleun already had written the definitive post on the subject, I never finished it. My favorite pic is the Mommy Democrat squirrel keeping her kids safe… from the GOP Elephant. Because, you know, that’s the most dangerous thing we face in this world.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim C. permalink
    November 18, 2006 7:23 am

    Hey Duke: at least on Firefox the image of the first book isn’t showing up on the page…

    I think it was the classic: “Help Mom, Liberals are Under my Bed!”

    (According one site “Liberals Under My Bed” sold over 30,000 units and was just the beginning of a series: “Kids Ahead is moving forward with an entire Help! Mom! series. ‘Help! Mom! Hollywood’s in My Hamper!’ hit stores in March, ‘Help! Mom! The Ninth Circuit Nabbed the Nativity!’ will be out in time for Christmas, with ‘Help! Mom! There Are Lawyers in My Lunchbox!’ to follow.”)

    Does seem pretty creepy to think about pushing political framing on 4 to 8 year olds these books were written for…(or more precisely for the parents of 4 to 8 year olds)…

    Can I also point out two bits of likely unintended subtext in both books?

    The first book seems to be teaching “fear” as a key Republican value. If I were a Republican I’d have a big problem with that.

    And the second seems to be playing into the frame that Democrats are only a “Mommy Party.”

    And while, it is lots more subtle in it’s satire of the GOP than “liberals under my bed” is of DEMS (with Hillary or Kennedy as scary looking monsters) both books do what they can to show that one of the “key values” of their side is that the other side are somewhat or very evil.

    Feh.

  2. Duke_Ray permalink
    November 19, 2006 2:50 pm

    Thanks, Tim — I didn’t post this from home, which shows the danger of working on a strange computer. Both pics are up, now for your ridicule and “feh”s. 🙂

  3. Tim C. permalink
    November 20, 2006 9:30 am

    OK: Feh on both their publishing houses.

    Tim

  4. November 20, 2006 11:14 pm

    Grec writes: >>My favorite pic is the Mommy Democrat squirrel keeping her kids safe… from the GOP Elephant. Because, you know, that’s the most dangerous thing we face in this world.

  5. November 20, 2006 11:15 pm

    Since the link seems broken, just google or amazon my old fave, If It’s Not Close, They Can’t Cheat: Crushing the Democrats in Every Election and Why Your Life Depends on It

Leave a Reply

