Skip to content

Bush’s Opinion on Progress in Iraq

January 19, 2007

Just to clarify my lat post, I don’t consider a Fox News poll gospel (or any poll, really). It’s a snapshot on a timeline.

That anyone would say that "they personally want the surge to fail" is incomprehensible to me. I hope it is the result of a leading poll question- but that’s not obvious to me in this situation.

Those who question the surge’s ability to succeed- that’s a whole different question. Those who are unhappy with progress in Iraq – well they’re in good company too:

MR. LEHRER: Mr. President, do you have a feeling of personal failure about Iraq right now?

PRESIDENT BUSH: I’m frustrated at times about Iraq because I understand the consequences of failure. I want the Iraqis to succeed for our own sake. This is a war; part of a broader war, and that if we fail in Iraq, there is a better likelihood that the enemy comes and hurts us here. And so, I am frustrated with the progress. If you were to take it and put me in an opinion poll and said do I approve of Iraq, I’d be one of those that said, no, I don’t approve of what’s taking place in Iraq. On the other hand, I do believe we can succeed.

Maybe there’s some of that dynamic going on too. (HT: Mystery Pollster)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

