Skip to content

Reflections on the Semi-Hiatus

May 18, 2007

As my reader(s) may have noticed, I am semi-hiatusized. It’a a combination of things: my commute, once 20 minutes each way, is now 1 hour each way for the foreseeable future. It sucks. I’m also learning how to do my job on Final Cut Pro, which is great, but I’m learning everything over again. It’s good for the new neural connections, but I’m having to devote more time to nuts and bolts than usual. I’m also trying to get more sleep.

Sleep is the thing that would usually go when I would blog. Like it is now. But after a couple years of this I’ve realized that precious little progress has been made, especially vis a vis the two main commenters here. It’s not that no one’s mind has changed. I think I began to accept that reality a while ago. It’s the fact that even after all this time, no one’s really disagreeing with me for what I really believe, but for some ridiculous cardboard version of me. No one is really engaging my arguments, or responding to them directly, but raising semi-related points or going on the personal attack. So I’ll be blogging  when I feel like it. If your comments are demeaning and unserious, screw you and the horse you rode in on. If they are of merit, and many are,  I will think about them. I just probably won’t respond, even though I wish I could. Maybe I’ll find a groove on this job where I can blog more regularly, but it looks pretty intense until November.

I had high hopes of a high-falutin’ relaunch here on wordpress. They were very kind: within hours of hosting here I was “blog of the minute”. Not much traffic though. Like no clicks at all as far as I could tell. They seem more into the cute cat pix around here. Fine. Just let me rant in peace.

The thing is, I do want comments, even if they disagree. I was just hoping there would be a little more understanding. If I’ve learned anything in blogging though, there is more to truth than “just the facts”. Interpretation is, if not everything, of extreme importance. Your philosophy guides your interpretation. Your theology guides your philosophy. I was hoping that fellow Christians who know me and (at least formerly) respected me would at least be able to friggin’ understand me. Not that the problem necessarily lies beyond me. I do not blog enough about some of the things closest to my heart. I have not linked to some of the best stuff. I have not tackled some of the meatiest material because I want to do it mor justice than I can in a few minutes. So maybe I’m the only one that can see what I’m really about because I ‘m the only one that really knows about it. Maybe my blog persona is  grossly deformed in relation to my real self, resulting in confusion for others. I’m not sure where the problem is, but I know this: the problem is gigantic. The viciousness of our present politics  is only matched by it’s utter unseriousness in it’s effort to really deal with the problems we face in the world today. Our country seems headed for a state of psychological collapse that seems unstoppable and potentially lethal. What good can come of railing against it? Better to focus on career and family instead.

BTW, I’ve installed a link to Feedburner on the top right- for those that don’t want to check here unsatisfied, you can subscribe at Feedburner to get an email version of posts here. See ya “in a while”.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2007 8:35 am

    Hey Count,

    Don’t lose heart. Discouragement is part of life; people who care will get discouraged.

    Elijah was alone and discouraged. He had no desire to persevere, but he did. Like you, he needed some rest before he could continue.

    Friends and disappointment sometimes go together; family and disappointment too. Perhaps you are a convenient outlet for some of the disappointment and unhappiness of your friends as well.

    Get some rest and then return to the game.

  2. May 18, 2007 11:21 am

    Thanks David for the good vibes- you’ve been consistent in encouraging me and I really appreciate it.

    I wrote a song about Elijah once. I believe he even asked for God to take his life. I’m not in that place- not by a long shot. Things are actually really really good right now in terms of career and family- even church. All the things that matter in an immediate sense. Spending too much time blogging is not a very good use of my time for now, that’s all, especially since the people I care about the most seemed to have stopped listening to me (if they ever did) a long time ago. Still the main reason I blog is to just get stuff of my chest.

  3. Tim C. permalink
    May 18, 2007 6:18 pm

    Hey Dave:

    BTW, a very “postmodern” view on truth, which I agree with:

    “If I’ve learned anything in blogging though, there is more to truth than ‘just the facts’. Interpretation is, if not everything, of extreme importance. Your philosophy guides your interpretation.”

    Well put. And I was glad to read this:

    “Things are actually really really good right now in terms of career and family- even church. All the things that matter in an immediate sense.”

    Glad to hear church is going well, too…I know that had been such a sore point in the past… …and glad that although things are busy, they seem good busy…and that it will be work lasting till november sounds good too, if intense.

    And sorry to hear this still feels true to you: “…no one’s really disagreeing with me for what I really believe, but for some ridiculous cardboard version of me.”

    At least know I’ve been trying to understand what you really believed and cared about and wanted to get off our chest. And tried to honestly grapple with questions you though worth wrestling with.

    And a highly agree that if you have to choose sleep or blogging, choose sleep …

    Take care, and only post when you can…

    Timmy C.

  4. May 22, 2007 2:51 pm

    Understanding is a two-way street, Count. I feel as though the burden is on your friends to prove that we “get” you. I think a lot of us do “get” where you’re coming from, and we appreciate your distinctive blend of idealism and realism. Now have you understood us more than your caricatures of our position would indicate? As Bill Russell said, “It’s more important to understand than to be understood.” As St. Francis prayed, “Grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console, to be understood as to understand…”

    But again, it’s a two-way street.

  5. May 26, 2007 10:45 am

    My commute last week was approx 2 hours one-way out into the middle of the everglades, with the last 6 miles being at 15mph over roads full of sharp rocks the size of your fist ;->

    Good thing that job is only for another 5-6 weeks or it would kill me. The car may not make it that long.

  6. May 26, 2007 11:04 am

    Purple- It’s true. Things could always be worse. Like the Michael Savage show could still be on instead of being replaced by the Dennis Miller show. That has made may drive home much more enjoyable. My previous 20 minute commute with Savage was about all I could take.

  7. May 26, 2007 2:36 pm

    I find Savage fairly annoying these days.

    It took a while, but I’ve come to the conclusion he is in fact a leftist impersonating some sort of neander-conservative. In effect, he’s a 5th columnist.

  8. Tim C. permalink
    May 27, 2007 5:19 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone call Michael Savage of all people a closet leftist before… what makes you think so?

Leave a Reply

