Skip to content

Every Day Is A Gift

June 19, 2008

As I mentioned a few posts ago, it’s been an intense time of life for me- both good and bad- causing me to reflect upon the remarkable flux of fortune one is given. On the whole though I’d say in my case at least I can say that blessing far outweighs tragedy. I have not always felt this way in my life- not without justification- but as time has gone by I’ve seen how what seems like a mortal blow can be a blessing in disguise, not just once but time and time again. Sometimes the constraints are there to guide us to a a more hospitable environment where we can grow and prosper.

Then again, sometimes there’s tragedy that hits without warning and there’s nothing you can do but let the grief wash over you and mourn for the loss. So it is with my friend Kim who lost her beloved Brian to pancreatic cancer Tuesday morning only 3 weeks after he was first diagnosed. I myself had just worked with Brian on a project in February. It’s hard to believe he’s gone.

As for the Countess, it was looking like a total disaster again a few days ago: as it turned out ,the surgeon who was going to perform her surgery was not covered by our insurance due to a bad referral by her OBGYN. It happens. The surgeon who was covered was on Sherman Oaks and the Countess had to spend hours on the phone scheduling the appointment and arranging for childcare (not to mention shuffling them around). The good part of the story is that she liked this surgeon much, much better – and he recommended a much less serious surgery for her. Hallelujah!

Something’s afoot: yesterday was my first day working with a big promotion (only for a few weeks- for now), my Son finished Kindergarten and the new pastor for my church that I was instrumental in selecting moved into their house and will start preaching in a couple weeks. So much change, so much promise here on the micro level of my life.

Every day is a gift.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

