Skip to content

Rudy Giuliani and Sarah Palin: Big Mac Attack!

September 4, 2008

I ditched work early and was happily stuck in traffic for Rudy and Sarah’s big speeches tonight. What a blast. I laughed, I was moved nearly to tears, I clapped my hands and whooped it up on occasion. It’s amazing what emotions can come out when you’re alone in your car.

I immensely enjoyed hearing Rudy Giulinani. He was my first choice and I wish I could have at least cast a vote for him. Boy did he rip Barack Obama! In deserved ways too, especially for his “community organizer” resumé item.

It’s always interesting to see how the candidates criticize each other. Given that you accept your candidates premises, it’s no surprise that you would consider their criticisms valid and ther opponents spurious. I did find the tone of the criticism different from the DNC however; whereas Barack and Co. tended to portray Bush and McCain as horsemen of the apocalypse, tonight the theme was one more of mockery.

There was a lot of laughing.

Scared people don’t laugh. Stupid people might; but that’s what not I heard. I heard confidence. Whether that translates into victory at the polls… we’ll see. But I liked that part especially.

McCain may have rope-a-doped Obama into over-exposing himself and his novelty as a candidate, as well as given him a serious challenge to the title of candidate for change.

I was actually very interested in seeing Obama’s historic acceptance speech, but somehow found myself contented with a few video bites. The historic nature of his candidacy has been so drawn out, that as Spengler noted in the previous post, there was anti-climactic sense to the whole affair. Palin, by being such a surprise, and with her singular personality seems right now much more a new and exciting arrival. I had at least as much, if not more sense of history being made in her speech as a result.

Of course, whoever wins will make the most history, but whatever the result, the loser will have a big role to play in national affairs for many years.

David Brooks on PBS said he thought she was tough but not mean. I agree. Rather than make harsh broadsides, she went for the lightly absurd joke. I think to devastating effect. ‘The best way to drive out the devil, if he will not yield to texts of scripture, is to jeer and flout him, for he cannot bear scorn.’ Well see if it works on Obama too!

Now for a bit of semi-live blogging.

Michael Steele

I’m home now watching Michael Steele. How I wish he had a bigger national role. “Do you want to put your country first?” is his question. That’s a good one. How far the Democrats have come from “Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country”. It’s all about how much the government can give you now.

“Drill Baby Dril!”. Shivers for the Green types, but luckily has a lot of public support. Still, not my first choice for a slogan.

Why is it so many want to raise taxes on other citizens, but refuse to allow drilling for this vast precious resource?

The Mittster

Something’s a bit off about Mitt Romney. McCain was right not to choose him as VP- but maybe there’s a cabinet post for him. We could use a competent administrator like him somewhere.

His question “Is it Liberal… or Conservative” seems out of place in a campaign trying to be bi-partisan and/or moderate. Not that he’s wrong, but I think the approach of accenting what makes sense is always the best approach.

Still for a rich guy he’s pretty appealing. Rather than some cigar-chomping aristocrat he seems like someone who could teach America about how to prosper themselves.

The Huckster

Mike Huckabee never appealed to me. Then again, I gave him about 5 minutes. I can make my mind up pretty fast sometimes (don’t stick a lunch menu in my face when I’m hungry though). He’s got some good laugh lines and one great one:

“I”m not a Republican because I grew up rich. I’m a Republican because I didn’t want to spend the rest of my life poor waiting for the government to rescue me”.

There’s nothing in my experience that tells me waiting for the government to do something for me is a good strategy. “Sarah Palin got more votes for mayor of Wasilla than Joe Biden did for President”. Is that true?

Wow. His story about the school teacher who had veterans bring in her student’s desk was quite moving. A homily on patriotism. Still, not my cup of tea.

***

Hawaii has a Republican governor. Who knew. Fast forward!

***

RUDY!

“Community organizer”. Heh. “He couldn’t figgure out wether to vote yes or no! It was too tough!” Ouch. “Sarah Palin didn’t have this vote “present” when she was mayor or governor”.

Revenge of the decider.

“He’s never had to lead people in crisis”.

Crowd: “Zero! Zero! Zero!”. Damn people. Be nice.

Countess comment: “When the 3 AM phone call comes, Sarah Palin will already be up with the baby!”

“Change is not a destination, just as hope is not a strategy”.

Crowd: “Drill baby drill! Drilly baby drill!”

Cindy McCain is holding Trig. Too cute. There are some seriously beatiful women in this race this year.

Rudy’s recitiation of Obama’s foreign policy blunders so far I think was quite effective; especially the “undivided Jerusalem” and the call to convene the UN Security Council regarding the situation in Georgia, seemingly not realizing that Russia has a veto. “I have some adivce for Senator Obama: next time call John McCain”.

Shake it up! Shake up Washington!

God this is fun. George Bush was never this much fun.

Sarah Palin

“I will be honored to accept your nomination for vice-president of the United states”. Chills.

“The sheer guts of John McCain.” Coming from a hunter that has a lot of force. I have to admit it, I love the way she says “a man”. She knows what that word means, and I’m not just talking about sex. It’s a certain respect. She knows what having son serving means.

The littlest daughter is to die for. The intro of Trig was very, very moving, especially on the radio. Her unashamed love of her imperfect family is 100% genuine and not one trace of resentment for the horrible treatment given her by the press these last 72 hours.

Married her highshcool sweeetheart “He’s still my guy!”. That’s the election right there.

“We grow good people in our small towns”. Major connection. Joe Biden can’t touch it. Barack knows about it from books

Crowd: Hockey Moms for Palin signs go up. “The difference between a pit bull and a hockey mom? Lipstick.”

Daughter licks her hand and smooths down Trig’s hair.

“Let me explain what the job involves”. The sarcasm of the small town mayor. “I guess small town mayor is sort of like being a community organizer, except that you have actual responsibilities”. You have to har the tone. The tone is everything. It’s the tone every married man knows. Don’t trash the woman. She works hard.

Notes the duplicity of supporting the everyday guy, then talking about “clinging to God” etc. behind supposedly closed doors. “John McCain is the same man”. You know it’s true. This is a genuine populist ticket, not elitists looking to take over in our best interest.

The women can’t wait for every word. Everyone wants to hear what’s next.

“The right reason is to challenge the status quo.”

“That luxury jet was over the top…. (wait for it….)…. I put it on Ebay”. At least one of them can use a computer

Her list of accomplishments as governor I think puts her in very good light, especially compared to Barack Obama.

“This is a man who has authored two memiors, but not a single law or reform, not even in the state senate”.

“There are those who use change to promote their careers and those who use their careers to promote change.”

“The American presidency is not supposed to be a journey of personal discovery.”

But America has discovered Sarah Palin- and is re-discovering John McCain.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2008 10:06 am

    Nice comments Grec!

    I really liked Rudy and Huckabee last night. Both seemed more confident, relaxed, and prepared than they seemed when they were running for President. I can see both of them having some staying power.

    I hated Romney and his speech. I thought he just oozed “politician” the whole time he was talking.

    I really liked what I heard from Sarah Palin. She has a great voice to go along with her clear speech. Very refreshing. Just when I started to believe no politician represents how I feel and what I believe, along comes Sarah Palin who says she believes what I believe.

    Maybe McCain will make a good President after all.

  2. September 4, 2008 3:47 pm

    Grec,

    Ridiculing community organizing is just low and cynical. Giuliani & Palin basically insulted every active (Democrat, Republican) person, in every community in every town, in every state in this country. Community organizing is what religious, environmental, organizations do for the poor, for at risk kids, drug addicts, homelessness, the environment. The faith-based initiative is being used for community organization to help people. Do you ridicule this?

    Christians have been taken for a ride by the republican right wing. The fourth amendment has been hollowed out. The Geneva convention, which is supposed to protect our soldiers as much as any other country’s soldiers, has been ignored. Bush, Cheney, Rumsfeld, Rove etc avoided going to Vietnam, but trashed the characters of people like Max Cleeland (war amputee) & John Kerry, who actually served in that war and came back heroes. Even McCain thought that was low. The government’s neglect of vets coming back from war.

    Grec, the republican party has screwed this country over the last few years. The evidence to go to Iraq was fabricated (it has been documented), our government lied to us. Does this not offend you?

    Hypocrisy is so prevalent on both sides of the isle. But if a Democrat’s teenage daughter had a baby out of wedlock, the Christian’s would have been all over that. But hypocrisy and lies has always been the way of the fundamentalists (just ask Ralph Reed, Tom Delay, Ted Haggard and crew). Oh, and Giuliani has had affairs, there’s video of him cross-dressing). Romney worships a “false religion.” but because they are conservatives. Shall I go on?

    Then there’s the case of McCain’s divorce. He is an adulterer according to Jesus. But the Christian right choose to ignore this, even though they disliked Giuliani for the exact same issue during the primaries.

    “I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for marital unfaithfulness, and marries another woman commits adultery” (Matt. 19:9).

    You can guarantee that the christian right would be all over that one if it was a democrat.

    Then there was the lack of oversight committees for government corruption during the republican 6 year rule in the house and senate. Monica Goodling’s illegal vetting of people in the Justice Department (she’s from Pat Robertson’s (another morally corrupt individual) Messiah College, the administrations tampering with scientific & environmental evidence because it conflicted with their ideology.

    How can you tell me that we deserve another 4 years of these people.

    I’m looking forward to your response.

    David

Leave a Reply

