Skip to content

My Prayer For the Obama/McCain Election

October 13, 2008

My brain hurts.

Maybe it’s because I’ve been paying attention more in this election than in 2004 (the first election where I payed somewhat close election to the blow-by-blow) but this year- the end of a bitter two-year fight- seems especially confusing. Perhaps it’s because the race has been so volatile and unpredictable. Perhaps it’s because events in the world in general have been so hard to predict.

There’s a saying in Hollywood (attributed to William Goldman, I believe): “Nobody knows anything”. That could certainly apply to our pundit and political class. Nobody knows anything. As a result the signal-to-noise ratio has never been louder as the shouting and obfuscation rises to a seemingly all-time high.

I would pray for the media, but I’ve pretty much given up on them. But they deserve and frankly could use it most of all. They have a sacred trust in the American system and they are currently abusing it on a scale I’ve never seen before. It’s Orwellian and stupidly vulgar at the same time. Important issues are buried while sensationalist imagery prevails.

So I pray. I pray for wisdom and discernment for myself, for the candidates and the American people. I don’t ask God for McCain to win. I pray that each candidate would be honest about who he is with the American people, and that the American people would be given the grace, once again, to make the best choice for our country in accordance with His perfect will.

It’s important to note that I’m not claiming a special insight as to God’s will for this country, even though I obviously strongly prefer McCain for many reasons. I’m not sure I would claim the mantle of God’s will for the results of the election either way, but I would pray for the President, no matter who he is, because he will certainly need it. Whoever is elected is MY President. At least that’s the hope.

So that’s what I pray. I also pray it with my children occasionally, too, because they come home from school and play dates with the children of some of our liberal Christian friends and say “so and so says that John Mccain is a BAD MAN!” (We’ve obviously been through the “George Bush is a BAD MAN” bit too. Funny how the rhetoric of liberals is so easily understood by 5 year-olds.)

Not in our house. We teach that the President has a hard job, and that because everyone makes mistakes, it’s important to pray for the President because he has such a hard job.

George Bush has been so completely vilified beyond all reason, especially where his faith is concerned, but my perception is that his faith is far more nuanced than he’s been given credit for.  He didn’t pray for votes either. He prayed that God would make him the man he was supposed to be. I think that’s totally appropriate, and I would expect every President on some level to make that kind of prayer.

So I hope that those of you that pray out there would join me in praying that each candidate would simply be the person they believe themselves to be called to be before the American people, and that the media would somehow get to the truth of who they are so that the American people can make a choice not informed only by blind faith- either in God or the candidates- but by reason and good information.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Timmy C. permalink
    October 13, 2008 2:01 pm

    “So I hope that those of you that pray out there would join me in praying that each candidate would simply be the person they believe themselves to be called to be before the American people, and that the media would somehow get to the truth of who they are so that the American people can make a choice not informed only by blind faith- either in God or the candidates- but by reason and good information.”

    Amen.

  2. David permalink
    October 14, 2008 5:50 am

    When you say ‘pray’, by that you mean hope? I am not one to put much credence into prayer, especially when it comes to outside things out of ones control.

    McCain’s irratic campaign, and his poor choice of VP will only put the nail in the coffin. He’s run a terrible campaign over the last few weeks, and worst of all, he has got into bed with the religious right-wing, the agents of intolerance themselves. Strange bedfellows indeed.

    My new concern is that the Democrats will have a super majority in the senate which is fillibuster proof, and a large majority in the house, and with Obama possibly as President, that could be a problem. Whenever we have a party that rules absolutely, such as the Republicans from 2000 to 2006, look at the mess it can get us into. That is why the Founding Fathers developed this system of checks and balances. So let’s ‘pray’ that the Democrats do not get this super majority for all our sakes. We need the Republican’s to balance the policy making for a more moderate government. Unlike in recent years.

    Respected conservative journalist, David Brooks wrote a great piece about Palin last week.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/10/10/opinion/10brooks.html

  3. TImmy C permalink
    October 14, 2008 9:11 am

    “Yes They Can?”

    Slightly off topic, but here is one case where I’ll bet we can both get behind the younger progressive reformer calling for change…hoping to stir his country’s younger, more center-left voters to do battle with an entrenched older conservative Religious Right base.

  4. October 14, 2008 9:32 pm

    Uh…no, when I say pray, I mean pray. To the Christian Trintarian God, Father Son and Holy Spirit. Can we still be friends?

    Timmy- you intellectual sleight of hand would be remarkable if it were not so extremely common. Right and Left have no fixed meaning for you; therefore whatever is entrenched and Religious is right; what ever is against that is Left. Or something like that. Perhaps you jest.

    Yes, let’s hope that Aquavelvajhad gets ousted peacefully somehow, but please don’t make the case that what’s happening in Iran has any relation to our Left-Right alignments here. Making the connection between the Religious Right in this country and Ira is not cutesy to me, it’s deeply offensive.

    That’s the play here though isn’t it? Secular Dave and Religious Tim out to denounce people like me as the real Fascists. Small-government fascists… does…not… compute.

  5. Timmy C permalink
    October 15, 2008 1:45 pm

    Actually, while I was being cute, I DID mean it just as i wrote: although the debate here is bitter, that there WAS a debate where we could BOTH get behind a progressive reformer calling or change against an older entrenched religious conservative party in power. Hope he runs.

    (And left and right actually do have fixed meanings, and Ahmadinejad simply IS to the RIGHT of Khatami and a member of their Religious conservative party)

    (And NO I wasn’t hinting that you or McCain were fascists)

    I’ll pay for some Khatami 09 lawn signs and ship them over there now!

  6. David permalink
    October 16, 2008 11:56 am

    Have you read Jonah Goldberg’s ‘Liberal Fascism’. It’s an interesting read. He makes some good points about liberals encroaching on personal freedoms. I don’t want to live in a nanny state, Great Britian is terrible for that.

    I am actually for smaller government, with rewards for people who take part in their community/volunteering (time & money). However, I find these super-capitalist rich evangelical leaders offensive, they have obviously not reconciled Matthew 6:24

    No man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon.

    Pat Robertson, Tim La Haye, James Dobson and many many more. I believe those millionaire mega-churches should pay taxes like any other corporation.

  7. October 16, 2008 6:08 pm

    Thanks for this refreshing perspective, Count.

Leave a Reply

