Skip to content

About that Democrat bill…

February 13, 2009

Baseball Crank has an excellent post on Barack Obama’s Gift to Conservatives:

Obama is proceeding on the view that the guy who wins the election gets to enact the policies he wants. Having won a decisive, if not overwhelming, majority of the popular vote and having a large Congressional majority at his back, he certainly has every right to do that. Democrats spent much of the 2001-2006 period moaning about how President Bush and Karl Rove pursued, at home and abroad, a 50-plus-one strategy of making only the minimum necessary concessions to get only as much bipartisan support as they needed to get things passed, and about how Tom DeLay & company ran the House with the goal of maximizing what they could get for the conservative agenda, regardless of the wishes of the minority.

It’s absolutely astonishing how quickly the facade of bi-partisanship has crumbled. I highly recommend this post in its entirety and invite discussion in the comments. Hubris watchers, where are you now?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. timmy c. permalink
    February 14, 2009 1:55 pm

    How Obama views things partisan now, and his plans going forward with the R’s:

    “Obama seemed to split that opposition into several categories. Some of it was ideological: “I think that there were some senators and House members who have a sincere philosophical difference with the idea of any government role in boosting demand in the economy. They don’t believe in [economist John Maynard] Keynes and they are still fighting FDR.” Some was tactical: “I also think that there was a decision made… where [Republican leaders] said… ‘If we can enforce conformity among our ranks, then it will invigorate our base and will potentially give us some political advantage either short-term or long-term.” He paused. “Whether that’s a smart strategy, I think you should ask them.”

    Obama said the near-unanimous Republican opposition, after all his meetings with GOP legislators, would not discourage him from reaching out again on other issues. “Going forward, each and every time we’ve got an initiative, I am going to go to both Democrats and Republicans and I’m going to say, ‘Here is my best argument for why we need to do this. I want to listen to your counterarguments, if you’ve got better ideas, present them, we will incorporate them into any plans that we make and we are willing to compromise on certain issues that are important to one side or the other in order to get stuff done,'” he said….

  2. Tuttle permalink
    February 16, 2009 1:03 pm

    It’s not only O’s “bi-partisanship” that’s a joke. The bill is a joke. If it weren’t so damn scary, I’d be laughing my ass off.

    Let’s go back in time, for those who care, to June 22, 2007. O was campaigning in Manchester, N.H.

    He said “When there is a bill that ends up on my desk as the president, you the public will have five days to look online and find out what’s in it before I sign it.” He called this the “sunshine before signing promise.”

    In the same speech, O also promised there would be no more pork, and “no more secrets.”

    Yet, as we all know, this 1,000-plus-page piece of legislation was passed without being read by a single member of Congress. It was posted online in a form that could not be keyword searched.

    So much for the promise of “transparency,” too.

    O LIED about everything he said he would do!!! (Gosh, why am I not surprised!)

    But that’s not the worst of it. Here’s the worst of it:

    Before this bill is signed, actual federal obligations are already $65.5 trillion – exceeding the gross domestic product of the entire world.

    O’s economic Porkulus package will force the Treasury to borrow $2.5 trillion in 2009 and another $4 trillion in 2010. This will increase our national debt by 65 percent in 2 years.

    Here’s some stats I read this AM:

    * If you went into business on the day Jesus was born, and your business lost a million dollars a day, 365 days a year, it would take you until October 2737 to lose $1 trillion.

    * Earth’s home galaxy, the Milky Way, is estimated to contain about 200 billion stars. So, if each star cost $1, $1 trillion would buy five Milky Way galaxies full of stars.

    Government will not save us. Government is the problem. Corrupt government. On BOTH sides of the aisle. My advice- prepare yourselves and your families for what’s coming…

  3. February 17, 2009 11:12 pm

    I get it Tim- “I won” and all that.

    What a crock of shit. Obama did NOTHING substantial to reach out to Republicans. Seriously… inviting them to cocktails? I appreciate the gesture, but that’s all it is- an empty gesture. Which you have demonstrated again and again is good enough for you.

    You have used up all your credibility my friend. Keep it to yourself. If you read my links and have a point in response to the arguments made, fine. Otherwise, start your own blog.

    Obama won and he has a strong majority to ram through whatever he wants. You need to face up to your own beliefs and the beliefs of the president. Evidently you are still to ashamed of them to admit them to yourself, so you tell the lie that he is trying to be bipartisan. You deceive yourself deeply and insult my intelligence in the bargain.

    This is the last time I respond to something off topic. What a waste of time.

  4. Rob Asghar permalink
    February 18, 2009 12:31 am

    Wow. I decided to take a peek at this website the way I find myself compelled to look at a train wreck out of the corner of my eye. And I see the Count lament his “intense loneliness and feelings of abandonment and betrayal,” and then bash Timmy C., the one person who’s been too kind and gracious and patient not to abandon the Count with glee. Wow. You’ll just be miserable till the day you die, Count. Pathetic. Stop blogging already.

  5. February 19, 2009 11:36 am

    At least I’m not trying to make the case that because the government has been able to deliver the mails, they should have a shot at taking over the healthcare system. I know that’s impressive given your background, but let’s not get carried away shall we?

    While were on it, why does it seem you are always there to kick me when I’m down? Is that when you feel safe enough to strike? It sure seems that way. The more I confess weakness, the more emboldened you get.

    What you don’t understand is that I am healthy enough to share my weaknesses- something I’ve never seen you do. I’m OK with admitting that I miss you guys. I’m OK with saying I feel saddened by the crappy arguments, the dissembling, the double-standards, the outrageous false accusations. Beyond the differences we have, I feel the difference itself intensely. That’s just who I am.

    I’m not shocked or dismayed when it comes back to me either. At least it’s honest- a starting place if nothing else.

    If you don’t like it you certainly don’t have to read it. I will note that neither you nor Tim has really answered the substance of the linked post above. Tim avoids it, you (in typical fashion) take it as an opportunity to lash out at me personally. Fine. Clearly, my anger enrages you for some reason. Again, fine. I think of my first comment thread on you blog- where I noted that it seemed ok to “hate the haters”.

    Hate on me all you want, but what you have never seemed to understand though dear Robbie is that in all of this lamenting what I pity most is friends like you who increasingly seem HOLD VIEWS that are a bizarre combination of glib and delusional. And let’s not forget our favorite “weak, foolish and dangerously naive”.

    Not that you and Tim are actually any of those things. I’m still not quite sure what to make of it all, and I don’t want to write you all off any more than I want to be written off myself.

    BTW, not that it matters, but my comment above, which I knew was a mistake to post, comes in the context of some off-line conversations regarding abortion.

    I would welcome more direct responses to the issues raised in this actual post, but as usual, that’s not what I get, which I take to be the sign that perhaps I’ve hit a nerve.

    • Rob A. permalink
      April 29, 2009 4:31 pm

      >>why does it seem you are always there to kick me when I’m down?<<

      Sorry about that. Please send me an email when you’re up, and I’ll kick you then instead.

  6. Tuttle permalink
    March 1, 2009 2:54 pm

    Obama’s trillions dwarf Bush’s ‘dangerous’ spending

    Pelosi and Reid called Bush’s budgets “dangerous” and “unpatriotic,” but with Obama, they’ve changed their tune.

    http://www.dcexaminer.com/politics/Obamas-trillions-dwarf-Bushs-dangerous-spending.html

Leave a Reply

