Skip to content

Wisdom From the Land

March 23, 2009

I’ve been out on “the land”- my 600 sq. ft. or so of my so-called yard – a lot for the past week or so. Much to my amazemnet, I’ve found that I like working out there quite a bit. Especially in Springtime.

There are many lessons to be learned even in the most simple and humble gardening tasks. This weeks lesson- bordering on a revelation- is this: I am good at pulling weeds, but I am poor at planting.

There’s nothing wrong with pulling weeds; in fact it’s a prerequisite to any planting that I might want to do. But I usually don’t get past the weeding phase. So this year, I am vowing to go further. There’s more than removing the negative. There’s cultivating the positive.

That’s where the risk comes in. I like finishing a task, an weeding creates a sense of having finished something. You can look back at the end of the day and see what you have taken out. The ground looks so soft and brown. It’s beautiful. But there’s more.

Planting can give you that feeling too…but there are no guaranteed results. Plants die. Weeds return. With out diligence and patience, all your work can be ruined.

•••

So I’ve been continuing my Lent journey as best as I can- that is to say, somewhat lamely. I’ve been really searching and thinking about things I can apologize for here, but nothing is really coming through in an articulate way. I just have that sense that something is off. I’m not sold that an apology is what’s needed beyond what’s been said off line etc.

What I have come to is a sense that it’s time for me to stop wasting time in my life. I’ve wasted a lot of time worrrying about things I can’t control. Even more pathetic though is the worry and inaction I’ve let fester over things I can control. I could be a lot more productive if I just decided to focus in on a few things and cut the rest. That’s how some dreams die, but so much is dead already what’s the difference? I have much to be greateful for, best to cultivate where I’ve been blessed and forget about much else.

This is all very cryptic I’m sure but I just wanted to note what passing thoughts cross my mind when I’m out in the sun on my knees.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Toayminator permalink
    March 24, 2009 10:14 am

    I can relate. Have found I enjoy working in our garden and back yard with my beautiful, awesome and amazing wife.

    I learned one way to discern between and a weed and a plant that should remain:

    Pull on it- if it comes out hard, it’s a weed, and can be removed. If it comes out easy, it’s a plant and you shouldda let it be. 😉

  2. marine43 permalink
    April 20, 2009 11:39 am

    Don’t you just love the smell of freshly turned soil? Spent the last 3 days planting deer food plots, and our family garden. Hopefully the deer will eat their stuff and stay out of ours! haha.Every time i garden i want to get further into my internal “Galt” and just remove myself from society. But haven’t convinced my lovely wife.We have a 20 acre farm, and plenty of game. God Bless and take care.

Leave a Reply

