Skip to content

A Pattern Emerges

April 5, 2009

I’m beginning to see it now… every year, I recommit to blogging in January. Then a few weeks later, Lent hits and I give up media for for 40 days. My mental health improves. This year and the last, I am also underemployed briefly, giving me time to fix up the house and spend time outside. Stuff you do when not blogging. Mental health continues to improve.

This time it’s a bit different though- I have a sense of foreboding of life beyond my comfortable little enclave. I sense a historic power grab by my President, and the enemies of this nation. I have a job – a great job in fact – but am aware that many do not.

Still, I wouldn’t trade this time for anything. I hope to keep to my reduced awareness for at least a year. I also have a stack of books to tackle.

I also finally got on Facebook. I have to say, I am enjoying that little small-talk world quite a bit. It’s been good to re-connect with some old friends – many who of course are now conservatives because the don’t live in the big city, having never left hickville (in their hearts) – and in that brief fellowship I have found a measure of comfort. It is not good to be alone out here.

It’s refreshing to have real flesh and blood people on the other end of this digital pipe who know my name and face and have a measure of history with me. Increasingly I find the blog world a bit lifeless. The people I feel closest too – if that is the right word for it – d0n’t know me. The people I know the best– well, I feel like we don’t really know or understand each other very well anymore either. And the history we shared is progressing towards an angry and bitter dissolution unless another way to interact is found. 

Personally, I prefer a round of drinks at McCormicks on any given Monday or Tuesday night. But I haven’t found many takers from the other side on that. 

See you on the other side of Resurrection Sunday.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Timmy C permalink
    April 5, 2009 5:58 pm

    Glad you have had a good lenten media fast…and hope you had a good Palm Sunday and that it is a blessed holy week…

    Tim

Leave a Reply

